PHRF Current Notices

2022 Spring Appeals Case One


2022 Spring Appeal Case Two


2022 Revised Notice of Spring Appeals Meeting_


2022 PHRF BC Renewal Notice


2021 Appeals Meeting – COVID-19 Restrictions


2021 Vancouver Island Fall Appeals Case One


2021 Vancouver Island Fall Appeals Case Two


2021 Notice of Appeals Meeting – Vancouver Island


2021 Review Notice-PHRF 100-200


2021 PHRF Review List – 100-150


2019 Fleet Review Notification Letter


PHRF BC – Recent Class Rule Changes


PHRF is a general rating system that provides the basis for fair racing between dissimilar yachts. The system is competitor-driven and self-regulating with variations used throughout North America.


The PHRF BC system is run through the PHRF BC Handicappers Committee. BC Sailing provides the administrative support to enact decisions made by the Committee.


The Committee is comprised of yachting industry professionals and experienced PHRF racers appointed to the Committee through their yacht clubs’ fleet captains. The Handicappers Committee chair is chosen by the committee members. Technical and administrative support for the committee is provided by the chief handicapper who also works with BC Sailing to manage the PHRF rating system provincially.


Competitors are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the current PHRF BC rules and then engage in continuing improvement by actively participating in refining the PHRF BC system and PHRF BC ratings in three ways:


  1. Competitors are responsible for keeping the fleet honest. This is done by protesting any competitor at a specific event for sailing with any measurements different than shown on their current PHRF BC certificate or racing with no PHRF BC certificate where that is required by the notice of race of a given event.


  1. Competitors are encouraged to appeal either their own rating or a competitor’s rating at the biannual appeals if they feel there is a case to be made for an adjustment. With detailed current race results and fleet support, an appeal will generally be granted.


  1. All current certificate holders are encouraged to come forward with ideas to improve the PHRF BC rules and their application. Ideas can be passed on to club handicappers or presentations can be made at the biannual handicappers meeting.





Fee: The current annual fee for a new application is $45. The fee includes one change per calendar year. Additional changes will be charged $45 per change.


Change Form Instructions: Current certificate holders are obligated to update their yacht’s information immediately upon changing gear, sails or their yacht’s specifications (Rule 2.2). Please use the Application and Change Form making sure to indicate yacht name, sail number, class, the changes made and the owner’s information.


How a PHRF BC Application-Change Form Is Processed


Rating Appeal Form – On completion please return to BC Sailing accompanied by all documentation as requested on the form.


Current PHRF BC Fleet Certificates – updated May 4th, 2022


1-F certificates     G-M certificates      N-R certificates      S-Z certificates


Please search by the first letter of the boat name to view that boat’s current certificate. The fleet list can also be viewed in several formats below.


Forms, Tools and Explanations

  • How to file a measurement protest under Rule 4.4: Protesting an invalid certificate
    This quick guide explains how to protest a competitor for racing in a PHRF class without a current PHRF BC certificate or with sails/rig different than those identified on the boat’s current certificate.
  • A Brief History of PHRF BC
  • Sail Canada Sail Number Information
    Sail Canada issues sail numbers directly. Numbers can be obtained via the application form located on the Sail Canada website at the page link above.


PHRF BC Handicappers Committee

  • Chair –  John Windas – (Sidney North Saanich YC)
  • Chief Handicapper – Jason Vandergaag – (Royal Vancouver YC, Vancouver Rowing Club, Squamish YC, Gibsons YC, Kitsilano YC, Centennial SC, Stamps Landing YC, False Creek YC, Jericho Sailing Centre)
  • Ian Lloyd – (West Vancouver YC)
  • Trevor Salmon – (Deep Cove YC)
  • Katy Campbell – (Eagle Harbour YC)
  • Al Whitfield – (Point Roberts YC, International YC)
  • Jason Davies – (Tiddly Cove YC, Bowen Island YC)
  • Peter Harlos – (Kelowna YC, Penticton YC, Summerland YC, Vernon YC)
  • Terry Waters – (Nanaimo YC, Campbell River YC, Schooner Cove YC, Garden Bay SC)
  • Graham Heath – (CFSA Victoria)
  • Douglas Woolcock – (Saltspring Island SC, Pender Island YC)
  • Kirk Palmer – Royal Victoria YC)
  • Rod Martin – (Maple Bay YC)


Contact your handicapper through your club or email


Handicapper Job Description     Committee Member Appointment Procedure      Handicapper Code of Conduct

PHRF BC Handicappers Committee Meeting Minutes

PHRF Database